U.S. Army Enlisted and Officer Ranks


Private (E-2)

Private First Class (E-3)

Specialist (E-4)

Corporal (E-4)

Sergeant (E-5)

Staff Sergeant (E-6)

Sergeant First Class (E-7)

Master Sergeant (E-8)

First Sergeant (E-8)

Sergeant Major (E-9)

Command Sergeant Major (E-9)

Sergeant Major of the Army

Warrant Officers

Warrant Officer (W-1)

Chief Warrant Officer 2 (W-2)

Chief Warrant Officer 3 (W-3)

Chief Warrant Officer 4 (W-4)

Chief Warrant Officer 5 (W-5)

Commissioned Officers

2nd Lieutenant (O-1)

1st Lieutenant (O-2)

Captain (O-3)

Major (O-4)

Lieutenant Colonel (O-5)

Colonel (O-6)

Brigadier General (O-7)

Major General (O-8)

Lieutenant General (O-9)

General (O-10)

General of the Army

Home | Unit Insignia | Branch Insignia | Ranks | Medals | Badges | My dad in Vietnam